Palau is backing the United Nations new sanctions against North Korea but supports resolutions to bring Pyongyang to the negotiation table for a peaceful resolution on the ongoing nuclear threat in the region.

President Tommy Remengesau Jr. in his address before the United Nations General Assembly last week also condemned the threat of North Korea to fire  missile against  Guam.


“However, peace is not always achievable, and when this is the case, the UN must facilitate efforts to respond to aggression and violence. Palau therefore supports all efforts and UN Resolutions to bring North Korea to the negotiation table. The threat to the innocent people of Guam is a threat to us and the entire region,” Remengesau stated. .Palau also reaffirms our support of the international efforts to eradicate terrorism organizations such as ISIS and Al-Qaeda.

The United Nations Security Council on September  unanimously stepped up sanctions against North Korea  after it announced a nuclear test this month. The new UN sanctions  imposed a ban on the country’s textile exports and capping imports of crude oil.

It was the ninth sanctions resolution unanimously adopted by the 15-member council since 2006 over North Korea’s ballistic missile and nuclear programmes.

Earlier the 18-member nations of the Pacific Islands Forum, condemned North Korea’s nuclear threats to the United States territory of Guam.

Leaders in their communique, coming out of the five day Pacific Islands Forum in Apia, Samoa, September 4 to 8,  said that North Korea’s threat to fire missiles on Guam “constitutes a threat to the wider Pacific Islands region.”

Guam, although not a member of the forum, is close to Pacific island nations such as Palau and the Micronesian nations such as FSM and RMI.

In the communique the leaders also agreed on the importance of ensuring the full implementation of relevant UN Security Council Resolutions against North Korea.

Forum Members comprise of Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Republic of Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu French Polynesia and New Caledonia. (B. Carreon) [/restrict]