Flag of Palau (Background photo created by www.slon.pics - www.freepik.com)

Babeldaob’s three southern-most States, Aimeliik, Airai and Ngchesar signed an agreement acknowledging their shared boundaries yesterday, in accordance with their State’s border charters.

Information received by Island Times said this was the second meeting where the three States have discussed their boundary issues.  According to sources, heads of the States were there to sign on behalf of their States. Present at the signing for Airai State were Airai Chief Ngiraked Yukiwo Dengokl and Airai Governor Tmewang Rengulbai.  Signing for Ngchesar State were Ngchesar Chief Ngirakebou Andres Madraisau and Ngchesar Governor Florencio Adelbai.  Signing for Aimeliik State was Governor Browny Simer and Chairman of Public Land Authority Aisamerael Samsel.

Witnesses at the signing ceremony were members of Ngchesar Public Land Authority, BLS Director Sterlina Gabriel, Minister of MPIIC Charles Obichang, and former Aimeliik Governor Demei Obak.

President Tommy Remengesau Jr. who joined the leadership of the three large States of Babeldaob commended them for collaboration and cooperation on matter of such importance.