The majority of the incumbents will battle it out with up and coming aspirants for election 2020 in the senatorial and delegate’s seat.

It is expected to be a four-way race for the presidential seat, with Surangel Whipps Jr. being the last candidate to file for his candidacy the day before the deadline. Appearing alongside Whipps Jr. on the day of his filing were his family and supporters.

The primary election for the Presidential elections will be held on September 22, 2020. Running for Vice-President are two candidates, Frank Kyota and Uduch Sengebau Senior.

Showing up the day before the August 5 deadline to file for his candidacy was Warren Umetaro, who will be running for Delegate of Aimeliik. There to show support were his family, current Delegate of Aimeliik Marino Ngemaes, Governor of Aimeliik Browny Simer, former Governor of Aimeliik Demei Obak, Lucio Tem Obakerbau, and other supporters.

August 4 holds great significance to Warren Umetaro as it is his late father Steven N. Umetaro’s birthday. In the past, Steven N. Umetaro served as an Aimeliik Delegate and Vice-Speaker of the House of Delegates 6 th Olbiil Era Kelulau. Warren Umetaro was the only one that filed for Delegate of Aimeliik. Running alongside Mr. Warren Umetaro are 26 other candidates hoping to win their positions as delegate of their respective state. Like Mr. Umetaro, some candidates are running without opponents, such as Yutaka Gibbons, Sebastian Marino, and Victoria Vicky Kanai, Other delegates running against each other include: Noah Kemesong and Midas Ngiracheluolu for Delegate of Kayangel; Dilmai Saiske and Timothy R. Sinsak for Delegate of Ngerchelong; Gibson Kanai and Gerome Esebei Temengil for Ngaraard Delegate; Masisinge Arurang and Ellender Ngirameketii for Ngiwal Delegate; Frutoso “Toto” Tellei and Lentcer Basilius running for Delegate of Melkeok; running for Ngchesar Delegate are Rebecca Sebalt and Sabino Anastacio; Fermin R. Meriang and Lucio Ngiraiwet will go head to head for the Delegate of Ngardmau; Swenny Ongidobel and Portia Franz for Delegate of Ngaremlengui; Lee Otobed and Jersey Iyar will go head to head for Ngatpang Delegate; running for Peleliu Delegate are Nace Soalablai and Joseph Mtoched Giramur; and running for Delegate of Angaur are Olkeriil Kazuo as well as Mario Gulibert.

Running for the senate this upcoming election are 27 candidates, 11 of whom are incumbent. Those incumbent candidates include: Phillip Reklai, Stevenson Kuartei, Camsek Chin, Rukebai Kikuo Inabo, Mark Ucherbelau Rudimch, Kerai Mariur, Mason N. Whipps, Regis Akitaya, Aric Nakamura, Hokkons Baules and John B. Skebong.

Other candidates for senate include Kazuki Sungino, John Menidab, Jonathan “Cio” Isechal, Salvador Tellames, Joan Risong Tarkong, Seit Andres, Llecholch Francis, Umiich Sengebau,  Eugene “Ngiraklou Usin” Termeteet, Andrew Tabelual, Rebluud Kesolei, Moses Y. Uludong, TJ Imrur Remengesau, Ismael Remoket Muchucheu, Alexander Merep, and Secilil Eldebechel. November 3 is the set date for the general elections.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *