The Palau Election Commission on Tuesday certified the 2020 election results, officially declaring the winners of the Nov. 3 general election.

Announced as the victor in the presidential race is businessman and former senator Surangel Whipps Jr. who garnered 5,699 votes compared to his opponent Raynold Oilouch who got 4,351 votes.

For the vice presidential race, Sen. J.Uduch Senior won the race with 5, 112 votes with Sen. Frank Kyota getting 4,671 votes.

For the senatorial race, the top 13 winners are Mason Whipps who garnered 7, 099 votes, the other winning senators are Steven Kuartei, Andrew Tabelual, Mark Rudimch, Rukebai Inabo, Hokkons Baules, K. Topps Sungino, TJ Remengesau, Umiich Sengebau, Jonathan Isechal, Kerai Mariur, Cecilia Elbedechel and Regis Akitaya.

There are six new faces in the incoming Senate with seven of the incumbents winning a reelection.

For the House of Delegates seat, most of the incumbents kept their seats including Speaker Sabino Anastacio.

The winners now await swearing in during the Inauguration Day scheduled on January 21. 2021.

According to the commission’s certification, there were 10, 204 votes cast out of the 16,754 total registered voters for the Nov. 3, 2020 election. ( B. Carreon)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *