Taiwan will lose another ally with Honduras announcing that it is starting work in establishing diplomatic relations with China.

The Taiwan Foreign Ministry in a statement on March 15, warned the Honduran government for making the “wrong decision.”

“China has no intention whatsoever to promote cooperation that benefits the welfare of the Honduran people. Taiwan asks that Honduras carefully consider the matter so as not to fall into China’s snare and make a flawed decision that will undermine its many years of bilateral friendship with Taiwan,” the statement stressed.

The foreign ministry expressed grave concern about the planned switch to the Honduran government.

“The only objective behind the Chinese government’s interest in developing ties with Honduras is to suppress Taiwan’s international space.”
Taiwan is officially recognized by 14 countries, that included the Pacific island nations of the Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, and Tuvalu.

The other nations that have diplomatic ties with Taiwan instead of China are Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Paraguay, Saint Kits and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, Grenadines, Eswatini and the Vatican.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *