UNOFFICIAL results of the recently concluded 8th General Election of Airai State Government shows incumbent Governor Tmewang Rengulbai leading the race for the gubernatorial seat again. Candidate Jack Master is behind by just 81 votes.

For the nine Legislator-at-Large seats, Ms. Helena Yoichi-Arurang leads the race with 649 votes.  Other eight top vote getters, according to unofficial results are Stephanie Ngirchoimei with 614 votes, Leo Ben Teriong with 547, David Orrukem with 485, O’Dear C. Yobech with 473, Sano Sakurai with 436, Ralphy Kanai with 407, Sherman Daniel with 393 and in the ninth place, Douglas Ueki with 378.  Close behind at number 10 is Peter Adelbai with 375.

Total of 826 votes were cast at Airai proper out of the total 1,465 registered votes.  Absentee ballots will be tallied on Monday, March 12, 2018. ( L.N. Reklai/Island Times Editor)