Image Source: PICRC Facebook page

Palau International Coral Reef Center (PICRC) held the 2020 Arts & Tides Calendar contest award ceremony on Wednesday this week.

This year five high schools and 16 elementary schools participated in PICRC’s annual art contest, with a total of 1,329 artwork submissions.

The overall winner of the 2020 Arts and Tides Calendar Contest is Siwen Shao, an 8th grader from SDA Elementary School. Last year, Shao won first place for 7th grade category.  Out of the 1,329 submissions, Shao’s artwork was selected as the overall winner.

Shao’s unique and creative piece will be featured on the front cover of the 2020 Arts and Tides Calendar.

PICRC staff went to SDA to present the award during the school’s morning assembly.  Joining PICRC to present the award was Yrang McCarty representing Surangel & Sons Company, one of the Arts and Tide Calendar Sponsor.

For the second year in a row, Koror Elementary School (KES) has had the most submissions and the largest number of winners. To show their appreciation for the high level of participation,PICRC staff and sponsors,

Efren Marquez from IP&E and Matthew Arurang from Blue Bay Petroleum Inc. visited KES for a private awarding ceremony.

Efren Marquez and Matthew Arurang along with Terry Ngiraingas and Ida Ngirmang from Ngara Maiberel held an awarding ceremony for all other schools at Kedarm Conference room at PICRC.

PICRC would like to recognize all of the winners for this year’s contest.

First-place winner

Rayna-Lynne Tadao (Grade 1, Koror ES), RieIngerekl Mekreos (Grade 2, Melekeok ES), Kean Reyes (Grade 3, Koror ES), Micaiah Ngellitel Oikawa Masayos (Grade 4, Melekeok ES), Grandon B. Basilius (Grade 5, Airai ES)

Jaylyn T. Eberdong (Grade 6, G.B. Harris ES), LeevanNgirawes (Grade 7, Ngeremlengui ES), Mitoko Charles (Grade 8, Koror ES), Kezia Casandra S. Cuizon (Grade 9, Belau Modekngei School)

Alvin Mikel Emiliano Jr. (Grade 10, Belau Modekngei School), Xinyue Ruby Yang (Grade 11, Palau Mission Academy), Kaylene Buncal (Grade 12, Palau High School). First place winners will be featured inside the calendar, with each grade representing a calendar month.


Leah Castro (Grade 1, Peleliu ES), Moriske J. Paulus(Grade 2,Koror ES), Caya A. Giramur(Grade 3, G.B. Harris ES), Alexis I. Rush(Grade 4, IbobangES), Ehra Nichole G. Villera(Grade 5, Koror ES)

Jandall T. Emiwo(Grade 6, Ngeremlengui ES), Bernize Lorraine S. Gepty(Grade 7, Koror ES), Gemrae Olkeriil(NgeremlenguiES), Zechariah TarimelTutii(Grade 9, Palau High School

Judgemean Ngiraikelau(Grade 10, Belau Modekngei School), Yuling Selena Sun(Grade 11, Palau Mission Academy), and Madison D. Ngirmidol(Grade 12, Palau High School). Runner-ups will be featured on the backside of the calendar. (PR)