Nineteen participants joined the first Triathlon event conducted this year by the new board of the Belau Triathlon Federation (BTF) on March 31.

Participants for the Sprint-Open and Sprint-Masters categories battled it out on a 750-meter swim, 20-kilometer bike, and a five-kilometer run while those who competed for the Sprint-Junior category raced it out through a 500-meter swim, 10-kilometer bike, and 3-kilometer run. [restrict]

BTF President Pascuana Flowers told Island Times in an interview that the event turned out successful as similar events in the past years only gather fewer participants.

Flowers noted though that this year’s first Triathlon event had no Palauan participants in it, adding that they are encouraging more local participants to join their next events.

A series of event will be conducted by the BTF this year to prepare for their annual big sports event next year.

In helping ensure the safety of the participants and promote the actual event, BTF had coordinated with the Koror State Rangers, the Bureau of Public Safety, and the Civic Action Team from US Camp Katuu and the Palau Visitors Authority.

Winners of the triathlon are listed below:

Open Sprint Division

1st place – Denepher Flores

2nd place – William Tejada

3rd place – Sonny Aliposo

Master Division

1st place – Kenzo

2nd place – Juan Guatno

3rd place – Gerald Medrano

Team Sprint

1st place – Go Alive Team (Swim – Bong, Bike – Tonio, Run – Imee)

2nd place – Bahaghari Team (Swim – Encabo, Bike – Ronald, Run – Doc. Capili)

3rd place – Yoyang Team (Swim – Kinki, Bike – Ricky, Run – Kinki)

(Rhealyn C. Pojas/Reporter)