Nineteen teachers of the year from both private and public schools of Palau are going to be revealed and recognized by the Ministry of Education (MOE) during the opening of the Education Convention on July 23.

MOE Chief of School Management Raynold Mechol said in an interview that out of the 19 school teachers of the year, a committee will pick one national teacher of the year. The second and third-runner ups will also be recognized.

Mechol said that all the 19 school teachers of the year will each receive a $600 cash from the MOE and a certificate of achievement.

The national teacher of the year will also receive an additional $2,500 cash, a trophy, and gold ring in recognition of his or her outstanding performance. The teacher of the year’s name will also be put on the MOE’s Wall of Fame along with the roster of teachers of the year in the past.

The first runner up will also receive an additional $1,000 and a certificate while the second runner up will also receive an additional $500.

Last year, Jennifer Ngual, a seventh grade teacher at Meyuns Elementary School, was chosen by MOE as the Teacher of the Year. Teachers Delina Kebekol of the Koror Elementary School and Willingheart Subediang of the Ngeremlengui Elementary School were also named as 1st runner up and 2nd runner up, respectively. (Rhealyn C. Pojas)