July 10, 2017 (Koror, Palau) Celebration for the 37th Constitution Day this July 9th was low-keyed this year and focused on national cleanup.

Facing dengue epidemic, President Remengesau called for a national clean up of Palau’s communities.  On Friday, July 8, government offices were closed and government employees took to the streets and communities to help with clean up efforts.


Yesterday an event to recognize the framers of the Constitution, those from the first Con-Con and the second Con-Con took place at the Palasia Hotel.

Of the 38 framers of the Constitution from the first convention, 10 are still here today.  These are Victorio Ucherbelau,  Laurentino Ulechong, Billy Kuartei, Johnson Toribiong, Kuniwo Nakamura, Joshua Koshiba, Yukio Shmull, Mariano Carlos and Masa –Aki Emesiochel.

Of the 25 members of the second Convention, 7 were also part of the first convention. They were Johnson Toribiong, Laurentino Ulechong, Bonifacio Basilius, Haruo Wilter, Hideo Termeteet, Mariano Carlos, Victor Ucherbelau.

New members of the second Convention were Dr. Stevenson Kuartei, Sinton Soalablai, Seit Andres, Patrick Tellei, Warren Umetaro, Raynold Oilouch, Hence Takawo, Kazuo Asanuma, John Skebong, Hokkons Baules, Marhence Madrengchar, Sebastian Marino, Surangel Whipps Jr., Valentino Emesiochel and Sandra Pierantozzi. [/restrict]