The presidents of Palau, Republic of the Marshall Islands and Federated States of Micronesia have formally invited Nauru and Kiribati to become a member of the Micronesian President’s Summit (MPS).


The formal invite to Nauru and Kiribati was sent during the conclusion of the second session of the MPS in Pohnpei held last week.

Palau President Tommy Remengesau Jr. FSM President Peter Christan and RMI President Hilda Heine stated in the letter to  Nauru President Baron Waqa and Taneti Mamau that there are issues of mutual concerns  among the nations especially the small island states.

In the 2016 meeting of the leaders of Small Island States (SIS)  several of the issues of  small nations such as Palau , RMI, FSM and Nauru are the  effects of climate change on Pacific island nations.

Pacific islands are being harmed by climate change – through erosion by sea-level rise, ocean acidification and warming that kills reefs and stresses other sea creatures, and more powerful typhoons and enduring droughts.

In the MPS Pohnpei Communique, the three presidents acknowledged the difficulty in accessing the Green Climate Fund and the need for a strong collaboration among SIS in the framework of the SIS Strategic Plan and Implementation.

President Remengesau in his opening remarks during the second session of MPS stated that “together, our individual voices can be magnified far beyond our shores to the larger regional and international community.”

He added, “only through our continued cooperation can we effectively take advantage of our limited opportunities and identify solutions that may only be available to our nations on a collective basis. (B. Carreon) [/restrict]