In the next 25 years Palau Conservation will continue and expand its conservation mission in these four strategic areas. The PCS board and staff concluded a 3-day retreat on March 4th to review and update its Strategic Plan 2016 – 2021 and look at the next 25 years for Palau. A key output of the retreat was an update of the organization’s Mission Statement to reflect the importance of partnerships and to embrace sustainable use of natural resources and climate resilience in addition to preservation of Palau’s unique environment. The commitment resolves to ensure community awareness and coherent policies for sustainable development, healthy reefs and fish populations, protected freshwater sources, and communities resilient to climate change. With these considerable commitments PCS recognizes the importance of partnership. PCS also looks to strengthen its relationships with PICRC, TNC, and MOE, and to forge new partnerships with other key agencies with mutual interests. The focus on climate change and community resilience is a newer area for PCS. “Palau’s communities remain front and center of PCS’s mission, thus the organization has to continue to thrive and adapt to changing norms”, says Chairman David Orrukem.
PCS also became one of the first NGOs in Palau to integrate Sustainable Development Goals ( SDGs) into its plans. SDGs have been adopted by all United Nations Member States. Among the 17 total SDGs, PCS incorporated seven (7) goals into its 2022-2027 Strategic Plan. The UN SDGs serve “as a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure that all people enjoy peace and prosperity by 2030”.
Palau Conservation Society continues to be a lean organization with 11 core staff implementing an average of $0.5M program budget and $150K operational budget annually. 80% of PCS’s annual budget is sourced from grants and partnership contracts. The organization looks forward to its Annual General Membership meeting in June when the PCS Strategic Plan 2022 – 2027 will be shared to members.
PCS’s current board members include Chairman David Orrukem, Vice Chair Mario Katosang, Treasurer Elbuchl Sadang, Secretary Sinton Saolablai (serving as Interim Executive Director), Dr. Minoru Ueki, Sandra Pierantozzi, Tina Rehuher, Adolph Demei, and TJ Imrur Remengesau.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *