The Speaker of Vanuatu’s Parliament, Esmon Saimon has confirmed six of the 27 members, who signed the motion of no-confidence against Prime Minister Charlot Salwai have withdrawn their signatures.

Confirming the depositing of the motion Friday, Speaker Saimon said the six signatories have also written separate letters to withdraw their support from the document.


However, he made it clear the motion will still go before Parliament to debate on Wednesday this week because the withdrawal letters came after he had announced his decision to put the motion in order for debate.

On Tuesday last week, the Government side was struggling and loosing numbers to the opposition.

The Union of Moderate Parties’ numbers on the government side moved and aligned themselves with their UMP colleague and opposition leader, Ishmael Kalsakau.

Some other factions from the governing parties were swayed to support the opposition-sponsored motion to oust the government leadership.

But the government quickly acted by reshuffling the Health Minister, Toara Daniel, and replaced him with Union of Moderate Parties MP for Malekula, Jerome Ludvaune.

Further maneuvering saw, UMP’s Tomker Netvunei Naling, getting an appointment as Parliamentary Secretary for the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Fisheries, Livestock and Biodiversity replacing Gracia Chadrack who got a new appointment as Parliamentary Secretary for Health.

Government insiders say the Prime Minister is yet to make further appointments, especially as Special Envoys, in the coming days.

When announcing the changes, Prime Minister Salwai said the changes in the government was not to protect him, but rather a measure to protect stability and to allow continuation of much needed services to the people of Vanuatu. SOURCE: LOOP VANUATU/PACNEWS [/restrict]