L-R: Mereng Kloulechad, Ylong Sakuma, Letis Kloulubak, Kerreng Kloulechad, PNSB Secretary Emi Katosang

Each year, the Palau National Scholarship Board helps administer the Elgina Sechedui Takeo (EST) Memorial Scholarship. And, on the 30th of August 2021, the children of late Sechedui Takeo presented the $500.00 scholarship check to the recipient, Ms. Yania N. Kloulubak. Yania’s Mother accepted her award. Yania is a Palau Mission Academy graduate who was selected because she had the highest GPA among all the applicants. She is currently pursuing her bachelor’s degree in social work at Andrews University in Michigan, USA.
EST Memorial Scholarship was established as a tribute to the late Elgina Sechedui Takeo, a long time employee of the Palau National Scholarship Office who worked for over 22 years and sadly passed away in 2016. She was a dedicated hard worker who was strong, yet a very compassionate staff at the Palau National Scholarship Office. EST strongly believed in higher education and wanted to help especially those who had the least access to opportunities. Thus, her family established this EST Memorial Scholarship which is available each school year to a graduating senior who is from Airai and has a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0. Also, the recipient must be a voter or have at least of one of the parents be a registered voter of Airai State.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *