By: L.N. Reklai

(Koror, Palau) With over month and half before the 10th government gets sworn in, the delegate-elects have met and approved their officers for the 10th House of Delegates.

Given that 13 of the 16 delegates of this 9th OEK got re-elected to the 10th OEK, it comes as no surprise that current Speaker Sabino Anastacio was re-appointed by his colleagues to be the Speaker of the 10th HOD.  Delegate Lucio Ngiraiwet of Ngardmau was selected for the Vice Speaker and Delegate Gibson Kanai of Ngaraard State will be the Floor Leader.


According to reports, the delegate-elects will meet again next week to decide on the committee chairmanships and membership of committees.

The House of Delegates of the 9th OEK for the first time since the establishment of this Republic have managed to have 13 out the 16 incumbents re-elected, only 5 unopposed, and one incumbent losing to a new comer.

This record has been attributed to strong leadership of the House which has kept itself intact by constantly attacking the Senate, creating an opposition outside of itself.  It has managed to pass through many bills that became law as result of its solidarity. [/restrict]