Palau has joined 140 other nations to condemn Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and call for immediate withdrawal of their forces.
On Tuesday, Palau’s UN Ambassador Ilana Seid said while the nation might have little in common with Ukraine, they have both become independent in the early 1990s.
“One is a large post-Soviet state in eastern Europe and the other is a small, blue ocean state.”
“And so, it hasn’t escaped us, that if the turns of fate had one of our former colonizers act with the aggression of Russia towards us, citing the justification of historical unity, it would have been our people who would be suffering the atrocities of war we are seeing in Ukraine today.”

141 countries voted in favor of the  UN resolution that  “deplores in the strongest terms the Russian Federation’s aggression against Ukraine in violation of Article 2, paragraph 4 of the United Nations Charter” and “decides that the Russian Federation shall immediately, completely, and unconditionally withdraw all of its military forces from the territory of Ukraine within its internationally recognized borders.
The resolution has shown that an overwhelming number of countries are condemning Russia’s action.
While the UNGA resolution is not binding, it resulted in a clear symbolic defeat for Russia. In the final tally, 141 countries supported the resolution, with just five voting against it and another 35 abstaining.
Palau is one of the Pacific nations  that voted in favor of the resolution deploring Russia’s invasion of Ukraine,
The other Pacific nations that supported the resolution were Australia, Fiji,  Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, and Samoa.
Fijian Ambassador Satyendra Prasad, speaking on behalf of the Pacific Islands Forum, called for “withdrawal of Russian armed forces and an end to the aggression, which violates the [U.N.] Charter.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *